RickyRestiano

me, my family and my awesome job

Day in the Life : the Restiano’s

with 4 comments

I have been conceptualizing a project for my studio, and I finally decided to give it a go. I have always photographed children, and always said that I am putting way to much pressure on these kids. There are a few things that stress kids out and all of those seem to be thrown at them in a quick one hour session. They have to meet a new person, wear some crazy outfit and the worst of all, SMILE. I have heard hundreds of parents begging these little guys to, “smile. please smile. if you smile I will buy you a Mercedes.” Okay, maybe not a Mercedes; but for sure they were going to get any new toy they want.  : )

For this reason I decided not pressure everyone, parents included, into a one hour session. I want to spend a few hours with you guys. All the details have not ironed out yet, but the concept is to be sort of “a fly on the wall”. I show up around breakfast and shoot all the little moments that unfold. After around half a day of shooting, I feel that I will have such a relationship built with each family that I will for sure get more than the one shot everyone is always praying for.

So, for my first attempt at this I decided to photograph the Restiano family. Yeah, yeah that’s my family so its not really hard. Anyway, this morning when I woke up I grabbed my camera and started shooting all the little moments that Catherine and I usually take for granted. Here are just a few of the hundreds of photos I shot.

ditl-95292

ditl-9547

ditl-9615

ditl-9569

G got to wear her new kicks in honor of this special day!

G got to wear her new kicks in honor of this special day!

ditl-9627

After breakfast we headed out to our cousins house to enjoy the warm weather. G swiped this cool tricycle.

ditl-0039

ditl-0090

ditl-0065

Written by Ricky Restiano

November 28, 2008 at 10:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very fun photos!

    Jacob Bergmeier

    November 28, 2008 at 11:15 pm

  2. Hey Ricky,
    Very cool idea!! Love the pics! Hopefully, we have a few years before we will book you for a photo shoot of this sort though 🙂
    Kelly & Michael

    Kelly

    November 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

  3. very nice, ricky.

    Sersen

    December 1, 2008 at 11:20 am

  4. Ricky,
    your pictures are awesome!!! You have a great eye for taking photos. Love, love, love them all!!!
    p.s. Beautiful family 🙂

    Iza

    December 10, 2008 at 10:17 pm


Leave a Reply

